WELCOME TO A GENESEE COUNTY LEGISLATURE MEETING

The Genesee County Legislature welcomes your interest and concern in County Government. Community support and input is essential.

THE LEGISLATURE MEETING

The Genesee County Legislature Meetings are held on the second and fourth Wednesday of each month. July, August, and December meetings are held on a Wednesday. Meetings begin at 5:30pm.

Persons requiring special accommodations should contact the Legislature Clerk five days prior to the meeting. 585-344-2550 ext. 2202.

ORDER OF BUSINESS

- 1. Prayer and Pledge to the Flag
- 2. Commendations & Proclamations
- 3. Approval of Minutes
- 4. Committee & Special Assignment Reports
- 5. Communications & Petitions
- 6. Legislator Comments
- 7. County Manager's Report
- 8. Consent Agenda (Resolutions)
- 9. No Consent
- 10. Unfinished Business
- 11. Adjournment

Privilege of the Floor may be extended to citizens by the Chair of the Legislature. A person other than a County Legislator may request permission to address the Legislature on any matter to be considered at the session. A Resolution is an item on which the entire Legislature votes. Generally, a resolution is brought before the Legislature by a Standing Committee. There are three Standing Committees: Ways and Means, Human Services, and Public Service that meet once or twice a month. Each County Department Head is responsible to a particular Committee.

When a department head has an action item, it is presented to Committee. If approved, the action item resolution is brought before the entire Legislature for a vote. By State Law, each Legislator has a weighted vote determined by population. After approval by the Legislature, the Clerk of the Legislature sends certified copies to appropriate personnel and the department head takes appropriate action. Topics and action items are discussed at Committee Meetings.

COUNTY MANAGER

L Matthew Landers is appointed by the Legislature and is responsible for carrying out the overall administration of County Government. Specific responsibilities include overall direction and supervision of County Departments; providing input to the Legislature on policy issues and carrying out adopted policies, and preparation of and control over the County Budget.

COUNTY ATTORNEY

Mark Boylan is appointed by the Legislature and is responsible for legal advice for the Legislature and every officer who is an employee of the County in all matters involving an official act of a civil nature.

CLERK OF THE LEGISLATURE

Lisa Casey is appointed by the Legislature and is responsible for preparing agendas for committee and Legislature meetings, handling inquiries from the public and preparing official minutes of proceedings. The office functions according to calendars and under the ever pressing need of meeting deadlines.

Genesee County Mission Statement

-The legitimate objective of government is to do for a community of people whatever they need to have done but cannot do at all in separate and individual capacities.*

-To this end, Genesee County Government promotes the basic health, safety, and welfare for all citizens within its jurisdiction.

-Genesee County Government actively promotes a strong, diverse economic base and efficient services to create a quality of life which values our County as a desirable place to work and live.

-Genesee County Government focuses on a vision of the future which clarifies its role, represents the citizens, and respects its heritage.

-Genesee County Government is committed to an environment of cooperation, integrity and openness, with a desire to elicit active citizen participation.



Adopted: 12 April 1995 Resolution Number 114

SPECIAL ASSIGNMENTS 2024

Aging, Office for	Hawley
Ag & Farmland Protection Board	Yunker
Airport Advisory	Klotzbach
Audit Clattenbur	rg, All Legislators (A)
Board of Health	Torrey
Community Mental Health	Dibble
Community Action of Orleans & Genes	ee Hawley
Comprehensive Plan Steering Committee	ee Maha, Dibble
Cooperative Extension	Hawley
Corporate Compliance Committee	Torrey
County Law Library Trustee	Stein
County Park	Hawley
County Planning Board	Deleo
Criminal Justice Advisory Committee	Dibble
E911 Advisory Board	Klotzbach
Fish and Wildlife Management	Dibble
GAM	Yunker (V), Deleo
GCEDC	Clattenburg
Genesee Community College	Torrey
Genesee FLRPC	Stein, Maha (A)
GLOW Workforce Investment Board	Stein
GLOW Solid Waste	Deleo, Hawley
Holland Land Office	Clattenburg
Information Technology (IT) Committee	e Klotzbach
Insurance Committee	Stein
Inter-County Si	tein, Klotzbach, Maha
Records Management	Deleo
RGRTA	Stein, Maha (A)
Soil and Water Conservation	Stein, Yunker
STOP-DWI	Dibble
Tourism/Chamber of Commerce	Klotzbach
Traffic Safety Board	Klotzbach
Youth Board	Deleo
Water Resources Agency	Stein, Maha, Yunker

STANDING COMMITTEES 2024

Human Service: Gregg Torrey-Chair John Deleo Gordon Dibble Brooks Hawley

Public Service: Gary Maha-Chair Marianne Clattenburg Chad Klotzbach Christian Yunker

Ways and Means: Marianne Clattenburg-Chair Rochelle Stein Gary Maha Gregg Torrey

Lisa Casey – Clerk of the Legislature 7 Main Street, Batavia, NY 14020 585-344-2550 ext. 2202 Fax: 585-345-3078 Email: <u>lisa.casey@co.genesee.ny.us</u> Rochelle M. Stein, Chair Marianne Clattenburg, Vice Chair Gregg Torrey, 2nd Vice Chair

Welcome to the Genesee County Legislature



Chad Klotzbach District #1, Towns of Alabama & Oakfield **Christian Yunker** District #2, Towns of Elba, Byron & Bergen Gordon Dibble District #3, Town of Pembroke and Darien **Brooks Hawley** District #4, Towns of Batavia and Stafford **Rochelle M. Stein** District #5, Town of LeRoy **Gregg H. Torrey** District #6, Alexander, Bethany & Pavilion John Deleo District #7, Wards 1 & 6 City of Batavia Marianne Clattenburg District #8, Wards 2 & 3 City of Batavia Gary T. Maha District #9, Wards 4 & 5 City of Batavia